Still Not Much To Write About….

The biggest news for me is that my Giants’ star receiver, Plaxico Burress, accidentally shot himself in the leg because he was carrying a gun in a club.

That is a serious case of being an idiot. Why was he carrying a gun in a club? Why was he concealing a gun in the first place? This is just ridiculous. The injury is not life-threatening, but they haven’t said if it is football-playing threatening. That would just be the dumbest way to end your career imaginable.

Second, Junichi Tazawa, the Japanese pitcher, has rejected all offers but the Boston Red Sox’.

What do you think of this small victory by the Red Sox? I have no idea about Tazawa, so I’m currently neutral.

Next, the Cubs are apparently still pursuing Jake Peavy, and the Orioles could put them over the top for getting him. See, the O’s are inquiring about Felix Pie, the Cubs’ failed centerfielder.

If they were to acquire him, they would give Garrett Olson to the Cubs.

Who would immediately hand him over to San Diego for the big prize.

Now, why the Orioles would want Pie, I don’t know, but tell me what you think about this too.

Arbitration time is coming!

Good night.

6 comments

  1. Elizabeth D

    I remember reading that Rice’s stats dropped after 1986. His best years were ’75-’86 I think. I know he led the AL in a lot of categories over the years, but as you said, it might not be enough. He might come real close, but not close enough (like last year). And don’t worry, I don’t think you’re entirely a biased Yankee fan 🙂
    About Tazawa, to put it bluntly, the only reason he signed with the Sox is because of Dice-K. I was surprised he didn’t got with the Rangers because they offered something like $7 million, but I guess Dice-K really is a Japanese superstar. Not that I’m upset over this, I like the idea of Tazawa. we’ll probably put him in the minors to begin with, maybe move him up later.
    About the whole Peavy trade, I feel like San Diego would be getting very little in the whole trade. I feel like they should be getting more since it’s Jake Peavy and all.
    -Elizabeth
    http://redsoxgirl46.mlblogs.com

  2. Elizabeth D

    Neal,
    It is very tentative as to where Tazawa will play. Theo intends that he will start out Tazawa in Double-AA Portland to get him more experience, and we’ll look at him in Spring Training as well. I like our rotation so far, I wouldn’t mind adding Derek Lowe or AJ to it (but I think AJ’s going to Atlanta). Tazawa could end up in the bullpen by the end of the season, but he may just stay in the minors for most of 2008… maybe make a few appearances like Masterson did (and then be added in later).
    -Elizabeth
    http://redsoxgirl46.mlblogs.com

  3. juliasrants

    The Burress story just gets stranger and stranger. Today it was reported that he had the illegal gun tucked in the waistband of his track pants and when it slipped down his pant leg, he grabbed it and then it went off. Um…if he felt the need to have an illegal gun couldn’t he have secured it better?

    Julia
    http://werbiefitz.mlblogs.com/

  4. redstatebluestate

    Burress is a shame. Seriously. So talented, so big, so strong, so everything a WR should be… but he has proven his idiocy in the past over and over again and this time there is no second chance. I doubt he’ll ever play pro ball again. But guess what? The Giants are still the best team in the NFC, even without him. I think they’ll make a run for the Super Bowl again.
    –Jeff
    http://redstatebluestate.mlblogs.com/

Leave a comment