Much Happened Since I Last Posted

I don’t need to report that the Yankees signed AJ Burnett to go along with their new ace, Carsten something or other. However, they did introduce these new aces to the New York media Thursday.

First they had a press conference. The boys look good in pinstripes.

Then they got a tour of their new stomping grounds.

On the other side of town, lost among all this hoopla, the Mets introduced their new setup man, making it so CC, AJ, and JJ were all introduced in New York on the same day.

Also (I’m not sure if it was the same day), Cleveland introduced their newest closer, Kerry Wood, who had one good season closing and 9 injury wracked ones with the Cubs.

So it was a huge day for pitching help, and the focus shifted over to sluggers, namely Manny and Tex.

The Yankees could reportedly “go hard” after Manny if they can’t get Teixeira. Good that he’s a fallback option.

It looked like he would be our slugging option, the only one left, at one point.

Teixeira was “pounding out the last details” of a deal with the Red Sox one day, the next, it was dead, and the Red Sox were “no longer a factor”. Hooray for that.

Also, we’re reportedly keeping the Melkmam for now. The Mike Cameron trade is dead. I am pretty neutral toward this, but by Jane Heller’s recent post, and the comments on it, I have realized that some–many–Yankee fans have developed a fondness for Melky that I never had. I mean, I like the guy, he has a cool name, and he’s best friends with my favorite player, he just never really enchanted me. Oh well.

The biggest middle infield prize still on the market re-signed with the Dodgers, after making a verbal agreement with his former team, the Braves. His agents had their actions called “despicable” by the Braves’ John Schuerholz (I probably spelled that wrong). I really don’t care about this, so I don’t bother to write more.

Sorry about my spotty posting lately, but finals week is TOUGH. Anyway, it’s winter break, and I’ll be back to my regular posting now.

We musn’t forget about one man still waiting in the wings for an offer, a man who is an excellent baseball player with an injury history. There doesn’t seem to be much competition, so I say snatch him up. He would look excellent in Yankee stripes…

4 comments

  1. Jane Heller

    Glad you’re back, Neal. Nice pix of the new guys in town. Love CC’s earring. AJ’s son is adorable. Just the sight of those pinstripes gets me jazzed about the start of the season. Sure seems like the Cameron-Melky deal is dead, but I’m not convinced we’ll be seeing Gardner and Melky sharing duties in CF.

    http://janeheller.mlblogs.com

  2. jimmy27nyy

    William,

    Good to see you back !!! …. I hope all your exams went well !!! … All the above pictures “look great” … The “next” picture I want to see, is a picture of Mark Teixeira in a New York Yankees uniform !!! … Take care; and, “enjoy your winter break” !!! … Jimmy [27NYY] … http://baseballtheyankeesandlife.mlblogs.com/

  3. thekfny28

    Lol, you never CAN have too much pitching, but still. It annoys me…

    Anyway, welcome back.

    -EJ the Kid From New York

    yankeesquad.mlblogs.com

Leave a comment